Author |
Message |
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 350 |
| Posted: | | | | When you register there you are given a user; you needn't create any. You should use the phpMyAdmin to create a database. Then you should use the import SQL page to import the schema.sql file (I found it easiest to have that file local rather than try to get it to read the one that got put on the site). Then you need to create a localsiteconfig.php file that sets $dbhost, $dbname, $dbuser, $dbpass. Also set $usetempfile=false;
Then your site should show a framework with no profiles. Uplocad you collection.xml and run the update from the sliding panel...
let me know if you need more help ... | | | -fred |
|
Registered: April 6, 2007 | Posts: 39 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting wtmac: Quote: Well I cannot get this to work, The next step states to create users for the database and there is nothing in the php-net.us site using phpMyAdmin or cpanel that I can find that allows you to create users. What am I missing. I am also lookng for answers on the phpdvdprofiler site as well. Hoping someone here can steer me in the right direction. Hi there I managed to set it up on a free hosting place (i'm using a paid service now), and I also had no option for user creation for the database. I had only one user (already pre-created). The cpanel mysql page had a place saying what my username was. Once you figure out your username, just skip the rest of the "create user" part, and keep following the instructions. Next step will have you editing a php file. I used notepad, and I had some trouble at first figuring out what to change, and what was comments... So to make it easy using notepad, just remove the "word wrap" option. Then, all the lines that start with // are comments. All the others are setup options. In the options for username and password, just input the username you found above, and your password for cpanel (i think that worked... I remember trying a bunch of stuff). Also, you'll find the following instructions at some point: [i]Find the line that starts with $update_login. $update_login = 'admin'; $update_pass = 'admin'; [/i] I had trouble at first figuring out if this was related to the database or not. It isn't. This is a totally new login and password for a function of the DVD page you'll have, that allows you to update your database. Finally, one other problem I had is that for a long time, I couldn't get any images to appear. That was due to the fact that the webserver runs on a case-sensitive system, whereas windows is case insensitive, and my image folders were capitalized, while phpdvdprofiler was looking for lowercase folders. Once I renamed them to lowercase, it worked fine. That's it. I hope it helps. Cheers | | | |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 360 |
| Posted: | | | | | | | Last edited: by Bill MacNeill |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,436 |
| Posted: | | | | While now mentioned in John's instructions, I would like to make sure about this, as it is a common mistake:
The scripts are case sensitive! The way you spelled the database in MyAdmin must be the very same in the siteconfig file, as is true for all other things...
phpdvdprofiler is not the same as phpDVDProfiler! | | | Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan. Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative) |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 350 |
| Posted: | | | | Please note: you must put a value in localsiteconfig.php setting the value of $dbhost.
The default is 'localhost', which only works if the MySQL server is on the same machine as the php code. This is not the case with phpnet.
You need to set $dbhost = 'sql4.phpnet.us'; but use whatever the signup sheet said for the hostname. | | | -fred |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 360 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting ya_shin: Quote: While now mentioned in John's instructions, I would like to make sure about this, as it is a common mistake:
The scripts are case sensitive! The way you spelled the database in MyAdmin must be the very same in the siteconfig file, as is true for all other things...
phpdvdprofiler is not the same as phpDVDProfiler! I am aware of the case sensitivity. I have been around linux for sometime. I am sure that there is a simple solution to this. Something that I am overlooking. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting ya_shin: Quote: The scripts are case sensitive! Sure thing, that's why i had choosen db-name in lowercase. I'm always making it easy for me Quoting FredLooks: Quote: Please note: you must put a value in localsiteconfig.php setting the value of $dbhost. That does the trick! I see a nice empty collection and will start upping the XML and the covers shortly. cya, Mithi PS Man, I hate it not to have server-logfiles (or am I overlooking them?). | | | Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML --- DVD-Profiler Mini-Wiki |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 360 |
| Posted: | | | | Still no go. I double checked the dbhost and it was what it should of been. When logging into PHPNET there is but one folder WWW that you can install into. This is where I copied the phpdvdprofiler files. Since it did not work there I created the folder outside of the www folder and still no go. I followed the instructions to the letter and for what ever reason this will not run. It is now a mission that I get this running. Any other suggestions?
Bill |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting wtmac: Quote: Still no go. Bad. But no, the "www"-folder is the right one. Copy the lines at the end to a files "test.php" and put it there and you should be able to load it with http://wtmac289.phpnet.us/test.php, no additional www in the url. And thus should it be in the (local)siteconfig.php cya, Mithi <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"> <html> <head> <title>PHP Test</title> </head> <body> <?php phpinfo(); ?> </body> </html> | | | Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML --- DVD-Profiler Mini-Wiki |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 360 |
| Posted: | | | | I tried that Mithi and was redirected to http://my-php.net/aboutus.php |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 360 |
| Posted: | | | | Here is something odd... When I go just my web space http://wtmac289.phpnet.us/ I see the directory phpdvdprofiler If I click on the link I get a blank page. Shouldn't I be able to see the files? | | | Last edited: by Bill MacNeill |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting wtmac: Quote: http://wtmac289.phpnet.us/ I see the directory phpdvdprofiler If I click on the link I get a blank page. Shouldn't I be able to see the files? No, if you click on it the webserver executes the index.php, unfortunately this resulsts in a empty file. However, the test.php works, so you shouldn't be to far from the finishing line. Next step: check ALL file, if they have the right length, I had some problems with Filezilla and/or the phpnet-ftpserver. Some files were considerably smaller on the server, which in case of the index.php is of course a big problem. Remember to upload your latest localsiteconfig.php and rename it to siteconfig.php If that doesn't help, pm me your localsiteconfig.php (passwords deleted of course) and I will compare it with mine. cya, Mithi | | | Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML --- DVD-Profiler Mini-Wiki | | | Last edited: by Mithi |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| |
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 360 |
| Posted: | | | | I am in Buffalo NY until Thursday. Will do when I get back to the house.
Thanks for your help
Bill |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 1,117 |
| Posted: | | | | My web provider wants an extra $15 a month for SQL services, so I'll probably give it a miss. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 3,436 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Doombear: Quote: My web provider wants an extra $15 a month for SQL services, so I'll probably give it a miss. Not sure what you pay now, but if you do, that would be great reason to switch providers. If you are using a free account now, that's a different story though. | | | Achim [諾亞信; Ya-Shin//Nuo], a German in Taiwan. Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative) |
|