Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Can't export database
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorMagmadrag
Master of childprofiles
Registered: May 25, 2007
Germany Posts: 346
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
As I want to clean up some other stuff (http://www.invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=1044305&messageID=3297234#M3297234) I needed to export my database to use ProfilerQuery.

So first of all I did the database repair to be sure that it is allright, then I go to "Export Profile Database" and use "All". It runs quite fast, and a couple of minutes later, exactly at that point of time when it should be finished, I get the window that profiler crashed. Blah blah... restart, send a message to invelos etc.

I go to cancel and it looks as if all is fine. But it isn't. No more covers visible in any profile and if I click on anything, finally the program really crashes and I have to manually kill it. And the worst thing: I got an xml of my collection - with a size of 0

So if database repair before export doesn't help to make export possible, what does?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,242
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ouch!    If you have a recent backup, or if it works doing a backup (File / Backup Database) then I would suggest that you create a new database (File / Open Database / New Database) and restore the backup into that new database, and see if it works better. That will of course take sometime with a database of your size. And make sure you have enough disk space.

If the new database works OK, then you can delete the old one (File / Open Database / Delete).

If you can't get it to work this way, let us know and we'll take it from there.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
 Last edited: by GSyren
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was outta bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,631
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Recently I changed DVDP to run as administrator. Then when I ran it, I had to tell my PC to allow it to run, by clicking "Yes". Slight pain in the butt. So after a few days of clicking "Yes" to allow it to run, I changed it back because the default user is me and I am an administrator. Then when I opened DVDP it had no images and it was not happy. No database repair or new DB would fix the problem, so I am now running DVDP with administrator compatibility and will deal with clicking "Yes" each time I launch it.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorgreyghost
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 1,356
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorMagmadrag
Master of childprofiles
Registered: May 25, 2007
Germany Posts: 346
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
@GSyren: With a new collection it worked.... the export ran much fast than before.

But that is the only "faster" thing: Editing a profile feels like on a computer 20 years old.... if I enter the name of cast, between typing a letter and seing it in the window, nearly 30 seconds go by - for EACH letter... that didn't hapen with the old database. Same size, same contents (+ some new DVDs) but much less speed....

And to the others: I try to avoid Windows 10 as long as possible.... before the new database: The images were visible again after killing the program and restarting it.

Why the export now works without problems, I logically can't understand. Something similar happend in 2019 with the database before, and my only chance then was also to create a new database from the backup. So it seems that there is running something in the background which causes that troubles as the "visible" contents of the database are the same in the new one as they have been in the old.

Add: After the export ran, it said kind of "well done" - but it has a size of zero! :-( And altough everything looked find, I couldn't edit any profile after the export without a restart of profiler. No doubleclick on any profile made me entering it, simply nothing happened.

So I got a new collection now but the results are obviously the same. The only difference is that profiler doesn't tell me about a crash but still crashes anyhow.
 Last edited: by Magmadrag
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,242
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
There is obviously something  very wrong.

I would suggest that you uninstall DVD Profiler and then install it again, and restore your backup.

And to be extra safe, I suggest that you use Revo Uninstaller (it's freeware) as it cleans up better than a regular uninstall.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorMagmadrag
Master of childprofiles
Registered: May 25, 2007
Germany Posts: 346
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
As I didn't see any logic why this-and-that worked but not before I tried something other without a logical reason: I had the existing collection.xml with zero size and thought that this could be the problem.

After deleting it, I tried to export again and two things (one more thing absolutely against any logic) happened at the same time:

1. Profiler told me: "All profiles exported successfully"
2. I got the pop up that profiler crashed with the message "Out of memory"

2. is impossible! While the export runs, my CPU runs with 20 - 30 % and my RAM is loaded with 40 - 50 %. So either is the message simply wrong or profiler is not able to use existing memory.

@GSyren: This is just another try, isn't it? According to the size of my collection backup and restore always is a huge load of work. But what if it doesn't work after this try, too? Then I've kind of "wasted" another couple of hours... if I could be sure that all is fine after, I'd do it at once, but I don't have more time to waste. Especially as the only thing I need the exported xml for is to use your tool for the "Jr."-stuff.

So I am sorry to say: As long as this is the only reason and as long there is not sure that it will work after re-installation, I move that "Jr." thing until there is another possibilty to handle it. Too many hours allready went by without a success...
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,181
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mreeder50:
Quote:
Recently I changed DVDP to run as administrator. Then when I ran it, I had to tell my PC to allow it to run, by clicking "Yes". Slight pain in the butt. So after a few days of clicking "Yes" to allow it to run, I changed it back because the default user is me and I am an administrator. Then when I opened DVDP it had no images and it was not happy. No database repair or new DB would fix the problem, so I am now running DVDP with administrator compatibility and will deal with clicking "Yes" each time I launch it.

You might be able to fix this by manually setting the access rights on the folders that DVD Profiler writes to. There is probably a MSN article on how to do it. Make sure to use folder recursion so that all underlying files and folders get their flags changed.

Once you do that, you might gain access to the files once again with Profiler running non-elevated. I'm not entirely sure about this, but it is relatively safe to try.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,181
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
@magmadrag

It seems that you are continually hitting problems related to the enormous size of your collection. Then you seem surprised and start posting the issues and complaining that they don't get foxed or don't make sense.

Breaking news:

- your collection is too big for DVD Profiler
- DVD Profiler will likely never get fixed

I was wondering if you would be interested in creatively thinking about some kind of workaround that could be facilitated by some programming - plugin or otherwise? If not, just say no and I will not think about it further.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorMagmadrag
Master of childprofiles
Registered: May 25, 2007
Germany Posts: 346
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
@mediadogg:

Accodring to the size I have a little bit of disbelief as others "only" had their problems when the collection broke the 30.000 but who knows...?

I had the idea of kind of a technical solution, but I am not sure if this even is possible in anyway. I try to explain it step by step and you can tell me if you see any technical solution for that:
- As at home my DVDs are not all in the same shelf but divided over several boards by genre or other criteria, at least in theory I could split up my collection in profiler the same way to the 20 different boards I am used to place them
- Then I would need kind of a tool to handle all collections at the same time and which would have access to all of them altough only one is open
- The point above has the reason that if I care e. g. about common names, the wrong version of the name might be present and two or even more of my collections, but opening each one separately too search is much too time intensive

Size might cause some troubles, but after creating that new collection with exactly the same size as the one I had before, I won't believe that size is the reason for being so much slower now than before with the old one.
I've read several threads here about size discussions and - like mentioned before - real problem seem to start at 30.000+. And: Why does the program tell me something like "out of memory" as long as there is so much? Neither harddisk nor RAM are used in any "exhausted" way. I am sure that the inactivity of the technical support is the reason for that "send a report to invelos" is not even possible at the crash window?

And: With having new problems at least every week, what should I do than post a thread? Am I really complaining when I simply post facts? In no rule or conditions there was listed any size limitation. And you know how collectors are! Slowely but sure I have built the basement of my collection, now I can start to go deeper into some details. Sad to say, but as more and more problems come up and obviously never ever have a chance to get fixed, I might need to take a look for any alternativity to profiler which doesn't cause problems every week. This is a sad idea as I spent countless hours for thousands of contriubtions, but as it looks that here "the man behind the scenes" never wants to come back to care about his "child", I should focus my priorities on a stable collection tool and nothing else. Some might call this egoistical, but I'd like to say that the number of my contributions proves them wrong.
 Last edited: by Magmadrag
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 4,242
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Magmadrag:
Quote:
This is just another try, isn't it? According to the size of my collection backup and restore always is a huge load of work. But what if it doesn't work after this try, too? Then I've kind of "wasted" another couple of hours...

I'm confused. You come here asking for help, but you don't want to spend a couple of hours unless it's guaranteed to work? I don't think anyone here knows for sure how to fix your problem, so if you're not willing to try, what's the point in asking? 

Regarding collection size, I have seen one user who has over 40,000 profiles, so collection size alone cannot be the limitation.

By the way, have you tried starting DVD Profiler with Diagnostic Startup? Hold down Alt or Ctrl when you start, and select Diagnostic Startup. If things run better that way, then you can pretty much eliminate collection size as the root of your problems.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,181
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
As far as memory, you can check the Windows Control Panel and Task Manager to see what is going on. You know that. If you are running 32 bit windows on a modern PC, even then you can only use only up to 4GB, regardless of how much you have in your PC. Maybe you know all that already.

Then we also know that DVD Profiler is a 32 bit app. So that could be an issue also.

Now your idea of an automated database swap is also something I have thought about. A plugin might be able to do something like that while maintaining some kind of status or working cache while switching. Seems like an interesting problem to solve. Is DJ Doena watching? What do you think - is it possible?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorMagmadrag
Master of childprofiles
Registered: May 25, 2007
Germany Posts: 346
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hard to believe but it worked: Completely uninstalled (that means including all tools and add ons etc.) and re-installed. Now the export created a file much bigger than zero and after finishing that I still can edit profiles.

So the first idea (as it is obviously not the size) might be one (or more) of the tools. Within the last few weeks I allready uninstalled the CCV (altough I'd appreciate to see all the awards) and most times deactivated all as there were conflicts between BulkEdit (from mediadogg) and Duplicatesearch (from DJ Doena).

As I am not a programmer anymore (and my Basic years are decades in the past) I only can presume: We have 5 or more smart guys which work on tools. Every tool itself is extraordinary helpful. But sometimes allready two from different sources cause huge conflicts.

So at this point of time my idea is (if you don't do it allready?) that all of you great developers of those tools which keep profiler alive would change their concepts, codes or whatever is neccessary to eliminate thos conflicts between the tools. Additionally to the two mentioned before I used InitializeChildProfiles and FreeStyleCast&CrewEdit2. There was one more from mediadogg but I don't know the name. When I wanted to uninstall profiler, Reavo told me that there is something named "2.15" (or 2.18?) which is only used by profiler. At least once I used tools like DVDProfilerQuery and something like "MissingData" (or similar title; a tool to analyse profiles and show in which profile this and that data is missing). Some I only used for a short time (like the MissingData) and then only deactivated but not uninstalled it.

If there is no way to find a solution that several tools can co-exist with the same profiler, would everyone of the tool-creators be so kind and post something like a "package insert" to their sites which says: "Be careful: In combination with XXX this tool might cause huge problem or doesn't even work"
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,181
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Dream on. But glad you figured it out. If you have more specific information that would allow something to be done, OK. But if you think we are all going to collect together and have a mass testing event - not gonna happen.

Oh, and if you have a specific warning, experience or advice about specific plugins or tools, then perhaps you could make posts in the relevant threads. Often, is is a collection of experiences together that allows someone to discover a correlation that leads to a solution.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,181
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Furthermore, believe it or not the developers do collaborate, cooperate and help one another. Some of my tools are almost 15 years old! In that time, operating systems and hardware have changed many times over. New tools have come along. Some people have no problems. Other people seem to have problems all the time. That will continue to happen, no matter what the developers do.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 6,181
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Magmadrag:
Quote:
... as there were conflicts between BulkEdit (from mediadogg) and Duplicatesearch (from DJ Doena).  ...

Would you kindly give me a link to the forum entry where you previously reported the details of this issue?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next